Vertigo Releasing is proud to announce the acquisition of SOUND OF METAL, a film by Darius Marder starring Riz Ahmed (The Night Of, Star Wars: Rogue One, The Sisters Brothers) and Olivia Cooke (Ready Player One, Thoroughbreds, Me, Earl and the Dying Girl), and produced by Bert Hamelinck and Sacha Ben Harroche from Caviar (The Rider).

SOUND OF METAL premiered at the 2019 Toronto International Film Festival and won the Golden Eye for best international feature film at the 2019 Zurich Film Festival.

Writer and director Darius Marder’s first feature film, Loot, was awarded Best Documentary prize at the 2008 Los Angeles Film Festival, and this is his first narrative feature. Marder also co-wrote The Place Beyond the Pines.  

Ruben (Riz Ahmed) and Lou (Olivia Cooke) live together, travelling gig to gig playing their loud, frenzied music. Suddenly Ruben, a passionate drummer, loses his hearing and his world is upended, causing him to struggle with depression and be tempted by past addictions.

Sound Of Metal will be released in UK and Ireland in 2020.

Vertigo Releasing

Author Vertigo Releasing

More posts by Vertigo Releasing

Leave a Reply